Inspiration

Two things happened to me just now, at precisely 6:28AM Thursday morning, January 10, 2013. Both of these two things were extraordinarily ordinary. The first is this: I finished the first episode of BBC’s Sherlock, which is brilliant. I am now thinking in a combination of Martin Freeman and Benedict Cumberbatch’s accents. The second is this: After finishing the episode, I went to Facebook, and stumbled upon this post by Justin Zoradi on Don Miller’s blog. In the post, he posits the idea that if you really want to be passionate about something, you must invest time. He suggests that investing 100,000 hours is around average for someone to be truly proficient in their passion.

Somehow these two things came together for me. Passion, and time. I don’t really know what Sherlock has to do with this, other than that he is absolutely passionate and dedicated to his craft. HE was just part of the process.

What am I passionate about? I believe that I am passionate about two things: Teaching, and God. Now, I have been stuck in a waiting pattern for around five months. I’m working a job because it pays for my wife and I to live where we believe we are supposed to be, and yet it is also preventing me from fully engaging in the community. If I am truly passionate about teaching, and truly passionate about God, I can’t simply wait for things to change. I must engage, and I must find ways to act. Even if it means teaching for free, I need to find some way to do that – or at least find a way to keep learning. It means being proactive, rather than reactive.

And all that means two things: first, Less doing nothing on my nightshift, and more being intentional. Second, less video games, and more engagement in the community.

Good thoughts, now let’s put them into action.

3 thoughts on “Inspiration”

  1. Is there opportunity for you to read during your night shifts at work, Jordan? When I was your age, I was single and almost a recluse. I averaged a book a week for years. Not fiction or entertainment, but serious theology and related reading. My dream of teaching never fully materialized, for other reasons, which I accept as valid.
    If you’re going to teach, and I’d affirm you in pursuing this, I’d suggest that good solid reading can be a healthy part of preparation, for however long a period this stage lasts.

Leave a Reply

